Less than three months to go before the Mayor’s Ultra Low Emission Zone expands to include parts of the borough

Published: Thursday, August 5, 2021

With less than three months to go until the Mayor of London expands the capital’s Ultra Low Emission Zone to include northern parts of the borough, residents are being reminded to familiarise themselves with the new rules and check whether or not they will need to pay if they drive within the zone.

Share this

The existing central London ULEZ is being expanded to include parts of the borough

From October 25, the ULEZ will be extended to include all areas of London within the North and South Circular Roads. These two ring roads will form the boundaries of the new zone.

Any vehicle driving within this zone will need to comply with emissions restrictions or be subject to a financial penalty every time they are driven. These rules will apply 24 hours a day seven days a week (except Christmas Day).

The Mayor’s decision to expand London’s existing ULEZ to include areas within the north and south circulars means these rules will soon apply to vehicles belonging to residents in parts of Battersea, Wandsworth and Putney. Residents can check if their home is included within the new zone by checking a detailed neighbourhood map on the Transport for London website.

Drivers can also use TfL’s online checking tool to see if their vehicle is exempt from the charge or will be required to pay.

Vehicles that do not comply with the zone’s emissions limits will need to pay a daily charge if they are driven - £12.50 for cars, vans and motorcycles and between £100 and £300 for buses, coaches and lorries.

Non-compliant vehicles include:

• Motorbikes that do not meet Euro 3 standards
• Petrol cars and vans that do not meet Euro 4
• Diesel cars and vans that do not meet Euro 6
• Buses, coaches and lorries that do not meet or exceed the Euro 6 standard.

Vehicles that enter the central London Congestion Charge zone will need to pay an additional £15.

For more information please visit the TfL website.

Table shows which vehicles are likely to be exempt