About the Wandsworth Grant Fund

Customer notice

We are sorry that we are currently unable to offer face-to-face meetings. Subject to officers' availability, email and phone contact can be made. Please provide full contact details when you send your email.

blank

Established in April 2015, the Wandsworth Grant Fund (WGF) provides all small grants (£500 to £10,000) for community and voluntary sector organisations in the borough to undertake activities for up to 12 months.

Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

We recognise the profound impact of COVID-19 on people’s lives and the role of community and voluntary organisations can have in supporting our communities. The WGF is therefore seeking applications through 2020/21 from organisations that will directly help to support our communities through their journey to recovery.

Meet the Funder events

The WGF Round 19 is now open for new applications. The online Meet the Funder events are for local charities and community groups applying to the WGF.

You can find out about the fund and how to apply, by registering to attend one of the events:

  • Tuesday 5 October 2021 - 10 to 11am
  • Tuesday 12 October 2021, 10.30am to 12 noon - Roehampton Base
  • Thursday 14 October 2021 - 10 to 11am
  • Thursday 14 October 2021 - 2 to 3pm
  • Tuesday 19 October 2021 - 4 to 5pm
  • Thursday 21 Oct 2021 - 2 to 3.30pm - Cromwell House, Doddington Estate
  • Wednesday 27 October 2021 - 2 to 3pm

Each event will cover all stages of the funding round and give you advice about what is being looked for when applying. Time is provided for questions and information given about how you can get further advice and support from specialist lead officers.

We look forward to seeing you on the day and hearing about your project ideas for 2022. 

Register to confirm your attendance

The event will run on Microsoft Teams which is free to use. The applications deadline for Round 19 is midnight on Monday 1 November 2021.

What we support

We aim to support projects under six themes:

  1. Arts and culture
  2. Environment and attractive neighbourhoods
  3. Children and young people
  4. Citizenship and civic engagement
  5. Achieving aspirations and potential
  6. Health and wellbeing
  7. Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

Dates for applications

There are three application deadlines during the year, with awards being announced around three months later. Projects should not begin before awards are announced and can last for up to 12 months.

Round Applications close (midnight of) Grant Sub-committee date Awards announced
17 Monday 12 April 2021 Wednesday 23 June 2021 Tuesday 29 June 2021
18 Monday 2 August 2021 Thursday 21 October 2021 Tuesday 23 November 2021
19 Monday 1 November 2021 Monday 31 January 2022 To be confirmed
20 Thursday 14 April 2022 Thursday 16 June 2022 Commencing Tuesday 12 July 2022
21 Wednesday 20 July 2022 Wednesday 21 September 2022 Commencing Tuesday 11 October 2022
22 Wednesday 7 December 2022 Monday 6 February 2023 Commencing Tuesday 21 February 2023

Projects can only be funded if their start date is after the date awards are announced and be able to proceed within three months of any offer being made. The awards are for a maximum of 12 months.

Guidance notes and application form

The guidance notes provide you with details of the fund, particularly updates of what we will fund and what we will not. The latter part provides advice question by question of the application form.

View the application form

Support for applicants

Council Officers are available to provide advice to applicants with a clear activity in mind after you have read the application pack. You can email any of the Specialist Officers detailed in the guidance notes or contact the Grant Officer with general enquiries. Online or phone appointments can be made with the Officers subject to other commitments.

Supporting you with an application

Before you complete your application form, we encourage all prospective applicants to discuss their application with the Thematic Lead Officers within the Council, who can talk through your ideas and provide extra guidance and support to strengthen your application. Please note that Officers are not able to review any draft applications but can give advice any answer questions you may have.

For a telephone appointment, it is recommended that you email the relevant officer with your query and book a date and time to discuss your project.

For all general enquiries, please contact Bruce Murdoch, Grant Fund Development Officer:

Arts and culture

Sara O'Donnell - arts@wandsworth.gov.uk

Environment and attractive neighbourhoods

Michael Singham - michael.singham@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Tom Newman - tom.newman@richmondandwandworth.gov.uk

Children aged 0-5 years

Siobhan English - siobhan.english@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Matt Hutt -  matt.hutt@wandsworthandrichmond.gov.uk 

Young people 6 to 18* years – or up to 25 years for those with a disability

Marsha Forde - marsha.forde@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Lucy Davies – lucy.davies@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Citizenship and civic engagement

Harriet Steele - harriet.steele@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk 

Raising aspiration and potential

Andrew Harland - andrew.harland@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Sonia Wilson - sonia.wilson@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Health and wellbeing

Tony May - tony.may@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Lea Siba - lea.siba@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

Recovering from the impact of COVID-19

Bruce Murdoch - bruce.murdoch@richmondandwandsworth.gov.uk

General enquiries

If you have a question regarding applications, email wgf@wandsworth.gov.uk.

Wandsworth Grant Fund resources

Sign up for our newsletters

Keep up to date with the latest news from the Council. Sign up to our newsletters now